Louhans

Louhans

Louhans

In the heart of Bresse Bourguignonne, surrounded by 3 rivers that are the Seille, the Solnan and the Vallière, Louhans-Châteaurenaud offers an exceptional gastronomic, architectural and historical heritage.
A medieval town with 157 arcades which form the main artery, it offers numerous shops on each side of the cobblestones.
At the entrance to the Grande Rue, the house of the bailiff, the oldest house in the city, has a very typical interior and facades. It is the only building listed as a “Historic Monument”.
The Hôtel-Dieu with its exceptional apothecary, containing a unique collection of Hispano-Moorish earthenware pots, is a visit not to be missed.
The “History and Culture of the Deaf” museum in the same place is just as magnificent.
At the municipal museum, you can discover the Museum of Printing, unique in France, as well as works by artists such as David or Jean Cocteau.
Near there, the old defense tower of the city, the Saint-Pierre Tower, is rehabilitated in place of exhibition.
Do not miss the Saint-Pierre church and its roof in varnished polychrome tiles, its gargoyles and its colorful stained glass windows.

Louhans

The city is very famous for its Monday morning market which has existed since the 13th century, one of the largest in France. It goes from the Place du Champ de Foire to the Arcades. A crowd of onlookers and merchants invade the center. The Grande Rue, with its arcades, is closed to traffic. The clothing market takes place at this location. The squares around the Saint Pierre church are adorned with all colors. It is pleasant to stroll along the stalls. Delicious scents emanate.

Louhans

Finally the poultry market, located on the places of Charity and the Fairground, attracts curious and traders for its local atmosphere. The market presents a large choice of poultry, notably Bresse poultry but also geese, ducks, rabbits and even goats depending on the season. An organic market is held on rue de la Grenette while the farmers’ market is located near the Halle. It is absolutely necessary to taste the market dish, the Veal Head as well as the Corniottes, specialty of the city. On Easter and Whit Monday, this market takes place as follows: food and poultry market in the morning only, clothing market all day.

 

More infos

Office de Tourisme de Louhans
1 place Saint Jean, 71500 Louhans

25 km from the campsite

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Louhans

Louhans

Louhans

Située au cœur de la Bresse Bourguignonne, entourée par la Seille, le Solnan et la Vallière, Louhans-Châteaurenaud possède un patrimoine gastronomique, architectural et historique exceptionnel.
La cité médiévale aux 157 arcades, formant l’artère principale offre de nombreuses boutiques de part et d’autres des pavés.
A l’entrée de la Grande Rue, la maison du bailli, plus vieille bâtisse de Louhans, possède un intérieur et des façades exceptionnelles, c’est le seul édifice classé intégralement « Monument Historique ».
L’Hôtel-Dieu et son Apothicairerie d’exception, qui renferme une collection unique de pots en faïences hispano-mauresques, constituent une visite incontournable.

Profitez de ce détour pour découvrir le musée Histoire et Culture des Sourds, qui se trouve dans le même lieu.
Au Musée Municipal, chacun peut admirer des œuvres d’artistes tels que David ou Jean Cocteau et découvrir dans la même bâtisse le Musée de l’Imprimerie, unique en France.

A deux pas, l’ancienne tour de défense de la ville, la Tour Saint-Pierre, est aujourd’hui transformée en lieu d’exposition.
Ne ratez pas l’église Saint-Pierre et son toit en tuiles polychromes vernissées, ses gargouilles et ses vitraux hauts en couleurs.

Louhans

La ville est également réputée pour son marché du lundi matin qui existe depuis le 13ème siècle. C’est l’un des plus grands de France, il s’étend de la place du Champs de Foire jusqu’aux Arcades. Le centre ville est alors envahit par une foule de badauds et de marchands. La Grande Rue avec ses arcades est fermée à la circulation pour l’occasion et laisse place au marché vestimentaire. Les places autour de l’église Saint Pierre se parent de toutes les couleurs et il fait bon flâner au gré des étales où se mêlent les odeurs alléchantes du marché alimentaire.

Louhans

Enfin le marché aux volailles, situé sur les places de la Charité et du Champ de Foire, attire curieux et commerçants pour son ambiance locale. Le marché fait grand place à la volaille notamment à la Volaille de Bresse mais vous trouverez aussi oies, canards, lapins, chèvres en fonction des saisons. Un marché bio a pris place rue de la Grenette alors que le marché de producteurs se trouve près de la Halle. Ne partez pas du marché sans avoir goûté le plat du marché, la Tête de Veau, et les Corniottes, spécialité de Louhans. Le lundi de Pâques et le lundi de Pentecôte, le marché de Louhans se déroule de la façon suivante : Marché alimentaire et Marché aux volailles le matin uniquement, Marché vestimentaire toute la journée.

 

Plus d'infos

Office de Tourisme de Louhans
1 place Saint Jean, 71500 Louhans

Distance depuis le camping *** Domaine de Mépillat : 25 km

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *